top of page

Sharing important news and updates for you and the community

Malakoff’s MD/CEO Encik Anwar Syahrin Elected as Honorary President of Penjanabebas

26 July 2022

On 27 July 2022, the Association of Independent Power Producers of Malaysia (“Penjanabebas”) held its 25th Annual General Meeting (“AGM”) at Malakoff’s Corporate Headquarters, KL Sentral. The meeting was attended by 16 representatives from the member companies. All resolutions were unanimously passed and Encik Anwar Syahrin Abdul Ajib, Malakoff’s Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer was elected as the new Honorary President for 2022/2023.

In his maiden speech as the new President, Encik Anwar expressed his appreciation towards the members for their continuous support. He also conveyed his admiration to all the members who remained committed and steadfast to sustain Penjanabebas even during the recent Covid-19 pandemic and looks forward to more engagement and participation with the authorities and other stakeholders for the betterment of the energy sector.

The new Penjanabebas Principal Office Bearers 2022/2023 elected at the AGM are as follows:

Honorary President

Encik Anwar Syahrin Abdul Ajib of Tanjung Bin Power Sdn Bhd

Honorary Vice President

YBhg Datuk Mohamad Nor Ali of Panglima Power Sdn Bhd

Honorary Secretary

Encik Md Yuha Ismail of Prai Power Sdn Bhd

Honorary Treasurer

Mr. Chan Poh Long of Teknologi Tenaga Perlis Consortium

Council Members

Ms. Subrina Thiagarajah of Segari Energy Ventures Sdn Bhd

Encik Mohammed Azmil Ismail of Tanjung Bin Energy Sdn Bhd

Encik Shajaratuddur Mohd Ibrahim of GB3 Sdn Bhd

Encik Marwan Sanan of Powertek Berhad

YBhg Datuk Astaman Abdul Aziz – Founder Member

Mr. Anbarasan Sellapan of Pahlawan Power Berhad

Mr. Kumar Shanmugan of Kuala Langar Power Sdn Bhd

Encik Shamsul Bahrin Hussain of Kuala Langat Power Sdn Bhd

Honorary Auditors

Dr. Zahrul Faizi of Ranhill Powertron Sdn Bhd

Ir. Lt. Cdr (Rtd) Hj Mohd Ismail Che Mat Din – Founder Member

Since its inception in 1995, Penjanabebas has played a key role in promoting and supporting the development of the independent power production industry in Malaysia by working together with the relevant authorities towards national development. Malakoff is indeed honoured to be given the opportunity to lead these efforts and we’ll continue to work closely with the rest of the members to raise and address various issues facing the power industry today.

bottom of page